Top 3 anime to get into Yaoi

600px-NC_801.svg

Happy Yaoi day everyone! Yep, that’s a thing 😛 Couldn’t believe it when I first discovered it, but I thought I’d roll with it and come up with a fun post. Most people will just avoid yaoi, and trash on it because….of obvious reasons, but like any genre there are titles that show how good it is while others not so much (looking at you Boku no Pico). Well, in celebration I thought I’d share what I believe are three good series to slowly ease you into the world of yaoi without having a total meltdown of “what did I just watch?” syndrome. Let’s go!

3. The Highschool Life of a Fudanshi

The-Highschool-Life-of-a-Fudanshi-Header-001-20160629

While this isn’t a straight up yaoi, it does deal with a very interesting aspect of it. Normally girls are the target demographic because A) They’re the majority of yaoi writers, and B) they love to ship. Unfortunately, because of that there is a stigma surrounding any guy who shows interest in it, and that’s where this show comes in. The main character is straight, and just happens to like BL. What could go wrong? In this three minute comedy short series it gives you a broad sense of what people in the fanbase think, and what people outside of the fanbase think of those in it.

2. Gravitation

2w56c85

Okay, this one may be older for some recent anime fans, so don’t knock the animation. Fact is, this is actually a really great story. It balances the personal lives of Shuishi, a pink haired boy who wants to be a famous singer, and Eiri Yuki, who’s a famous romance novelist. By a chance of fate they were put together and thus they develop feelings. This show focuses more on the romance aspect, even if it has some of the annoying yaoi tropes in it, but overall the characters are all strong and story is put a little bit over fanservice.

  1. Love Stage!!d095879534187c6f57546b2aafb8b5361404912213_fullThis probably has the best story of any yaoi. It’s a series that balances story, character development, and fanservice. The characters are lovable and funny, the story is surprisingly good, and the romance is actually believable. There’s enough fanservice for yaoi fans to ogle over, but not enough for new fans to run away screaming. If you’d like more information on it I did a review of the anime a little while ago.

 

Well that’s all for now. Doesn’t look like I’ll get to that second post but I promise I’ll be back in two weeks. Going on vacation, enjoy your yaoi.

13 thoughts on “Top 3 anime to get into Yaoi

  1. I think Gravitation was my first BL anime. I wasn’t very comfortable with the genre at that time, I must be honest. It’s only very recently that I consider myself as a big BL fan, a fujoshi in fanspeak. Now I devour almost anything BL-themed.

    Like

  2. Nice selection!
    I haven’t watched Gravitation in ages ╥﹏╥
    I’d have chosen Loveless too because nekomimis ;_;
    I haven’t watched the first one yet because I’m waiting for it to conclude this season so I can binge watch it, but I know I’ll love it “ψ(`∇´)ψ

    Like

  3. Great post! 😁 I’m actually fairly new to BL and havent been into anime in general for that long, Love Stage! (absolutely LOVE this series 😍) was actually my first yaoi experience so I agree with it being a great choice for newcomers. I still have to check out Gravitation though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

