The Curious Case of Super Saiyan Hair…

Dragon-Ball-Z-evolucion-de-Goku

Now I wasn’t originally going to post anything until my romance month that’s coming up, but I had the strangest idea that probably has the biggest coincidence of all anime theories that could be speculated that I just had to throw it out there. Basically, in this post I’ll be talking about the Super Saiyan transformations (1,2,3,God, SSG, and even 4,5) and relating them to something that puts a new light on the actual Saiyan evolution.

Stars. Let that sink in, because that’s what Goku and every other Saiyan is (but for the purpose of this post I’ll only be focusing on Goku). Before I continue, I just want to say that I got this idea while reading the book Life, The Universe, and Everything by Douglas Adams, which is a great read btw, and after reading an insane book like that I guess it was only natural to gather an insane theory that goes into anime. So here it goes!

Starting at the very beginning, Dragon Ball (no Z) began as a fun adventure story that played with the Monkey King mythology. Hence the name Son Goku. But as the story got more and more popular it switched to a battle manga and all of a sudden our main character was an alien that could transform the color of his hair! Now, I know for a fact that what I’m about to illuminate has no facts and is absolutely NOT what the author had in mind when creating this, but there’s too many coincidences to ignore and I need to fan out!

Son Goku is the Star of the show, but what if we switched his name around and played with double meanings? What if he were Sun Goku? And being the Star of Dragon Ball is only metaphor for the life cycle of a star, and his hair color signifies what stage of life it is in? Now let me break this down. Goku starts off having black hair, like everything Life starts off as empty space, blackness, nothingness, but what if a star is born from a massive amount of energy?

dragon-ball-super-episode-1-recap-must-read-for-dragon-ball-z-fans-will-we-see-goten-an-498036

Now lets say that going Super Sayain puts the Star as our Sun. Our Sun is roughly around the mid-point of its life and stable. What happens next is that over a period of time the sun will expand and grow in power, swallowing the first two and possibly three planets in our solar system on a scale of growth, to become a red giant. The Super Saiyans have three stages of blonde hair, representing growth and expansion before settling on a stronger power: Super Saiyan God.

Goku_SS1-3

mvc-goku-68317

Notice how in God mode Goku as a fiery aura around him, pretty hot huh? Almost as hot as a Red Giant, huh? huh?

Kidding aside, what could only make God mode even cooler is if it could go super saiyan. But now I bet you’re wondering “well obviously your theory must stop here,” but if you said that then you’d be wrong. You see, once a Red Giant reaches the end of its life time it explodes and creates a Planetary Nebula, which is usually blue or has a predominately blue hue about it.

Planetary Nebula NGC 2818, Hubble Space Telescope

Planetary-Nebula-ESO-456-67

But what really made me start thinking that this could transcend coincidence is this image of a Star’sΒ life cycle:

209495538

Notice it? A star can have two different routes, and it’s here that I like to dub the top route as Canon and the bottom route as Non-canon. What could I mean by this? Super Saiyan 4 of course! Now I know a lot of people hate GT, but you have to admit that this transformation was awesome. But what’s crazy is that both SS4 and SSG both represent red and ultimate power. Instead of a red giant, SS4 is easily the road less traveled Red Supergiant. But what’s even cooler is we can take this a step further now. Remember how there was concept art a while ago that went viral over the internet about what Super Saiyan 5 would look like? It was a mix between SS3 and 4 except Goku had all white fur/hair. This can still apply to the non-canon line as it represents a supernova. Scientists speculate that because a supernova is so immensely bright its light would be pure white. If SS5 is the ultimate form then it could easily represent a Supernova. The fact that Goku’s Super Saiyan transformation hair colors match up nearly perfectly with that of a Star’s life cycle is one of the strangest coincidences I have ever discovered.

At this point I’m sure many of you aren’t impressed, but I’m absolutely giddy about this half-cocked crazy, no facts speculation that makes absolutely no sense. If this coincidences keep continuing, and I’m sure the anime would love another Goku transformation, then I’m sure there will be one that’s even more powerful than SSGSS and at that point I predict it will have something to do with white to represent the white dwarf.

Tell me what you all think about this. Am I crazy? Am I wrong? Have I swayed your tantalizing brain even a little? Find out next time on….The Comment Section!

goku_transformation_chart_by_xxkyrarosalesxx-d8rpp1d

13 thoughts on “The Curious Case of Super Saiyan Hair…

  1. Ahahahaha! Maybe~~~~~~~~
    Regardless of this theory, this post made me remember how gelling one’s hair upwards when I was a kid will make you a running joke with everyone in school calling you “It’s a Super Saiyan! Are you going to blast me with a Kamehame-ha?”
    XD

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaa. Coincidence? I don’t think so…
        Jokes aside, it sounds great, and this theory of yours is the only one that satisfies my pondering over the sheer number of transformations that DB fans have seen over time haha. So I’ll take yours as truth.
        Hell, I can see why you’re going nuts about it lol. I’d probably be the same, given how much I fanboy about some stuff.

        Like

      2. Want me to reblog and spread the word πŸ˜€ ? I’llbe happy if I can get a few other people to read this. It’s entertaining if not COLD HARD TRUUUUUTTHHHH.

        Like

      3. Ahaaaa, that must have been a fun little mind-trip for you. Did you uncover your life purpose while you were at it or something πŸ˜€ ?

        I need to read the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the galaxy at some point. My brother read it and a few family friends and they all say it’s hilarious and random and it sounds like an entertaining read to say the least πŸ™‚ .

        Reblogged! This is gonna be big, I’m telling you x’D

        Like

  2. Your theory scares me. I was blonde as a child, when puberty hit, my hair gradually turned red. White next, huh? Yeah, that sounds about right!!! πŸ˜› Hmm… guess I bypassed the blue. Oh well. Honestly, I don’t particularly care for Dragonball, but my partner in crime has forced me to watch the whole thing through. Vegeta was my saving grace for that tumultuous 5 weeks!

    Like

    1. I salute you my friend! That must have been a hard 5 weeks indeed. Truth be told I’m not that into Dragon Ball as everyone else either, but the fact that their hair changes color has always stuck with me so….here I am πŸ˜›

      Like

    2. Also, if you weren’t a big fan of DBZ I may recommend the original Dragon Ball. It’s completely different and has a sense of adventure with lots of comedy. It’s nothing special but it’s a great watch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

