Recognition Award!

img_0102

Wow, can’t believe I got another award….well at least it motivated me to put up another post 😀

Rules:

  1. Write a post explaining why you started blogging along with a few tips.
  2. Nominate some of your fellow bloggers.
  3. Comment on their blogs to let them know you’ve nominated them.

Let’s see, I started blogging with my movie blog because I am obsessed with movies, but another one of my obsessions was and is manga/anime, which unfortunately I don’t have any friends who like it too. I started with a youtube channel and showcasing my collection, but it wasn’t really good and it felt painful shooting a video so I eventually gave up on that. Although I still put up a collection video once and a while. Anyway, I was starting to have success on my movie blog so I decided to make one for anime and manga….and where we are 😀 I feel like my content isn’t that good, but some people have followed me so I guess I’m doing something right.

Some tips:

  • Everyone’s going to say it, but I’ll say it again: Consistency is key. Take me, I update at least once every weekend, but before that I had like three posts per week. Once school came around and I had to switch it to once a week my viewership declined rapidly. People don’t like change, and if your quality, or your promises start to fall short people will dump you faster than you can say “Sorry for….”
  • Try and put your best into the posts and do something from a new point of view. Everyone will have the generic review or topic where it’s mostly the description on what the topic is, but that’s not what people want. We want to know what YOU thought of it. Take my “The Curious Case…” posts. That started with me not understanding certain aspects of the anime/manga community, and stuff that has really bugged me and from the feedback that people gave it sounds like it was a good post.
  • Write as if you were being graded on it. One of the things that turns me off about any type of writing (blog, article, forum post) is grammar and sentence structure. Although, I am a writer (short stories) so I’m more picky about sentence structure even though you should mostly worry about grammar. Things I hate are if you’re writing a post the same way you would write a text. Don’t be a five year old, and write out the words in their proper forms.
  • Don’t be discouraged if nobody sees your posts in the beginning. It’ll take time to find an audience. One of the best ways to get an audience is to go out there yourself. Checking on people’s blogs and if you like three of their posts then follow them, they’ll most likely follow you back. If you really liked a post or it made you think then comment. Interacting with other bloggers is super important, because lots of people love to just read and leave, but bloggers live for the interactions that come with the comments. Comments give you hope, they tell you that your doing something right. The more comments you put out there, especially positive comments (even if it’s just “hey nice post, I totally agree”) is a great place to get your foot in the door. After that it’s just time. Over time you’ll get more people, but only if you’re providing consistent posts and quality posts.
2 thoughts on “Recognition Award!

Leave a Reply

