Tokyo Ghoul Vol 1-2 (Ch 1-19) Review

Tokyo-Ghoul

Holy shit it’s been ages since I posted! Gasp! I’m really sorry, because I feel like I abandoned my blog when I was trying to watch my horror anime 😦 Sadly the first anime on my list to review for this month is really slow and at this point I’m just not enjoying it enough, so instead of wasting my time on that I’m moving onto my next anime (which is longer) so I’m not sure when I’ll finally start those reviews. But I feel bad for leaving all my readers in the dark for so long that I decided to do a quick manga review on the first two volumes of Tokyo Ghoul!

For those who don’t know, and at this point there can’t be that many of you out there, Tokyo Ghoul is about a boy, Ken Kaneki, who gets into an accident that makes a doctor accidentally transplant a ghoul’s organ into his human body. Now Ghouls are interesting in the sense that two volumes into the series and they are still a mystery. They act like humans. They look like humans, But they have supernatural “tails,” their reflexes are faster and stronger than a humans, and the only food they can eat other than coffee is human flesh.

My first introduction to this series, and like many others, was from the anime, and what I noticed right off the bat with the manga is that it really takes its time with the story. Nothing is rushed. It focuses on the emotional impact, and inner turmoil of our main character, and subsequently others around him. Turns out you go bat shit crazy when you turn from human to ghoul, and yet you don’t really belong on either side now. It’s definitely not something that is unique, but the emotional approach that this series uses as a focal point really makes you want to know what happens next while also making you like these characters.

Speaking of characters, all of them are unique and you can easily remember everyone’s name without mixing them up. Also, if you are an anime watcher and are interested in reading the manga then I think you’ll be a little surprised that the characters portrayed in the manga are a tad different than in the anime. Like Mado’s young assistant seems more emotionless in the manga while Touka feels more emotional in the manga. Also, is it just me or does Uta have a thing for leather and Kaneki?

Anywho, after two volumes it still feels like the series is in the set up phase, and the story is still finding it’s groove, but I’ve been really liking what I’ve read. The art is okay, it ranges from “meh” to really seriously detailed panels. Kaneki isn’t the best main character, he’s like all the other shonen characters in the sense that he’s the portal into this fantastical world for the viewer. He’s the one who never understands. He’s the one who’s always asking questions. And it feels strange because that’s just a shonen style to me while everything else about this story has only shown intelligence and feels seinen.

Even though I’m only two volumes into this series I still feel like I need at least two more to fully decide my thoughts and get deep analysis going. I will say that I enjoy it, heck maybe I enjoy it more than the anime, and the quality of the manga is really good so I highly recommend checking this out if you’re looking for a story that actually feels like it was thought out (i.e. beginning, middle, end) and you’re looking for a good quality manga to add to your collection. I will warn anime viewers once more that the manga is character exploration, and therefore some people may be disappointed at its pacing, but for the story it decided to focus on it’s good.

8/10

+Characters                                                 – Kaneki is pretty generic

+Nice world building                                 -Art is iffy sometimes (hands…)

+Uta

+Quality manga

Leave a Reply

